Song of the Day, kind of

So my “Song of the Day” was going to be Nate Ruess’s tribute to Prince from FestivALTAZ. Because what else could I possibly post on the one-year anniversary of Prince’s passing?

But Prince’s label had the video taken down.

This makes almost no sense to me.

I fully support the idea that creators should have control over the distribution of their work. I get that. I share lots of artists’ work on here, and I’m always extremely careful to embed only content that comes from the actual artist.

But Ruess’s cover of “Let’s Go Crazy” doesn’t deter people from listening to Prince’s version. If anything, it gives the song exposure to people it otherwise wouldn’t have reached.

This video from a year ago was my first time in years hearing that song. And the first day the original was made available on Apple Music, I downloaded it.

I can honestly say that if it hadn’t been for this cover, there’s a good chance I never would have downloaded the original.

Side note–here are some things I don’t know:

–What YouTube account posted the video (I can’t imagine it was Fueled By Ramen or Alt AZ, so I’m guessing it was just a fan who wanted to share his good experience with those of us who weren’t fortunate enough to be there.).

–Whether the owner of that YouTube channel had ad revenue turned on.

Also, I’m sure NPG had a somewhat valid reason for making the claim. I obviously don’t know every detail of what happened. This was just my gut reaction to not being able to listen to the tribute.

But what’s the point of using to your copyright against people who want only to celebrate your content and introduce more people to it? I don’t get it.


Click here for my professional site. There I try to stick to more upbeat stuff, I promise.

Leave a Reply

