World Team Tennis squads, ranked by me

Wimbledon just ended, but I still need more tennis. Fortunately for me, World Team Tennis starts today.

I never really followed WTT in the past, other than watching the occasional match on TV as a kid when I was bored in the summer. But, this year, I wanted to pick a team to root for. After going through the rosters, here are my preferred teams in order:

1. New York Empire

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 1.00.29 PM

Initially, I didn’t think this was going to be my favorite team, as the players on it aren’t my absolute favorites. But then I concluded that I needed to pick a team I could support for years. And because I was born in New York, and many of my favorite teams in other sports are from New York, I decided to go with the Empire. One other reason was that they’re playing on the US Open grounds this year. How cool is this resurface?

Plus, there’s the squad. I like every player on this team; they’re just not my absolute favorites. (And how about Marcus Willis?) So the Empire it is.

2. Philadelphia Freedoms

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 1.00.51 PM

Two factors went went into my decision to back this team. 1. Andy Roddick is my all-time favorite player. 2. The team inspired the similarly named Elton John song. And a bonus reason: Sloane Stephens. This should be a fun group.

3. Washington Kastles

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 1.01.19 PM

This is an absolute classic team. And what’s with the size of its roster? I’m looking forward to watching them play. Also, Murphy Jensen.

4. Springfield Lasers

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 1.01.09 PM

Two words: Rockum Sock.

5. Orange County Breakers

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 1.00.42 PM

Maria Sharapova. Steve Johnson. Nicole Gibbs as a substitute. I’ll happily watch any match this team plays.

6. San Diego Aviators

Screen Shot 2017-07-16 at 1.00.59 PM

I like this team, but I’m not going to plan my day around watching it.

Leave a Reply

